Making chocolates with kratom

Kratom (Mitragyna speciosa) is something I’ve only recently come across–it is a medicinal leaf from a tree indigenous to southeast Asia. It’s similar to kava in it’s muscle-relaxing and mind-relaxing effects, but is not reverse-tolerant (so you can get an effect as a newbie) and also seems to be a sort of analgesic. Having too much can quickly induce nausea, however, so it’s best to start small, as I do with these chocolates. It can give a lovely euphoric feeling, though, that lasts for hours while not interfering with being productive.

In fact, in some cases, it can increase productivity–I think it all depends on the variety you try and the amount. I certainly stayed up much later than I expected after writing this blog and eating two different cups to “test” them!

It was so confusing, starting out, because after I tried it the first time (mixed in some tea which didn’t really disguise it), researching kratom let me to a whole slew of various websites, all of whom said theirs was the best and all sorts of varieties that all said they were “very strong.” I finally settled on Kratom Therapy, whom I found through Twitter (which just proves that social media works for marketing, after all). Visiting their site, I found five varieties, all of which were clearly explained, and the benefits explained. Being a designer, too, I was drawn to it as a well-designed site, clean and easy-to-navigate, with nice graphics, and not cheesy like some sites I’d seen. Plus, their customer service is awesome, and they are really friendly and prompt.

People who are familiar with kratom will probably know what their tolerance is, but I’d say, if you’re new to it, start out with 1/4 tsp and if you feel nothing, try another 1/4 tsp. Eating it makes it take a little longer for the effects to be felt, and usually it takes over a half an hour for me to feel anything. Be sure to drink some water, too, because I think it has a slight diuretic effect which can lead to a dehydration headache if you’re not careful. It can also be addicting, on a regular basis, on the same level as caffeine in coffee.

I came up with two recipes–both with chocolate (of course!)–one with peanut butter and the other with mint. Both are Vegan (and gluten-free, lol!) if you use pure, dark bittersweet or even semisweet chocolate. I like to use chocolate that is at least 70% dark or darker. I was really pleased with how they came out–they are both really tasty, and one cannot really taste the kratom (which has a mild, slightly bitter flavor), but rather the other ingredients.

First, make the chocolate shells

First I melted chocolate. I tend to have extra chocolate around, so I wanted to use that up (so I didn’t measure out a certain amount). If you have couverture (melting chocolate), that is the best, but even chocolate chips would work–just keep in mind that chocolate chips keep their shape at 350F when baking cookies for a reason, and they are hard to make melt smoothly and will be harder to work with. I added a little cocoa butter to my chocolate, so that it would be more like a coating, so even while I plan to keep them refrigerated, if they sit out for a while, they will not bloom right away. (If you use chocolate chips, try adding a little oil, which will do the same thing–but you will still need to store these in the fridge long term). If you’re really hard-core, you can temper the chocolate, which is an exacting science which I will not address here…

I used petit-fours cup papers, but you could use any size, even cupcake liner papers–those would be bigger. I am interested in doing smaller cups because I’m thinking of having them at a party, and I don’t want anyone to overdo it! In the pic above, I’ve just put a teaspoon of chocolate into the cup, and then I take the spoon and run the tip up the sides, “scooping” the chocolate in the bottom up the sides to fill the ridges and coat the sides (it may take more than a tsp of melted chocolate, depending on what size cup you use. I put mine on a plate and stuck it in the fridge to chill.

While those harden up, start the fillings!

Kratom Krunch Kups

The picture at the top shows the finished product, and the peanuts make it crunchy (if you use crunchy peanut butter). I used the “real” peanut butter fresh-ground at my local healthfood store.

I started small, but all recipes are scalable–I find them to be easier to scale up than down, so I’ll put down what I did to fill four of those petit-fours cups:

Ingredients

2 tsp peanut butter (“heaping”)
.5 -1 tsp raw agave (how much depends on how wet your peanut butter is)
a dash of cinnamon (optional)
1 tsp kratom (level)

First mix the ingredients together as best you can (if you’re doing bigger batches of this, I’d say just toss the ingredients into a food processor), adding agave if necessary to add some “wet” (you can use maple syrup, too, but I would NOT advise using water unless you’re eating these right away, as water might cause it spoil quicker).

It will be a dry consistency, but hold together well enough. Be sure to get the kratom mixed in as evenly as possible.

Put the filling into cups a bit at a time, pressing down as you go. You’d be surprised at how much you can press into them! I generally use a smaller spoon for this.

Then you can top off the filled shells with chocolate, being careful not to drip any over the sides (as I had to “overfill” these to make 4 cups).

Put the finished cups in the fridge for the top chocolate to set up. When the chocolate is hard, you can unwrap and enjoy!

And the next recipe–

Coconut Mint Kratom Cups

Ingredients (for 8 petit-fours size cups)

1 heaping Tbl coconut oil (while solid)
1/2 tsp green stevia
2 tsp kratom (level)
a few drops mint oil

This has a lower glycemic index, using stevia instead of agave. The coconut oil is plenty wet all on its own, once it’s melted.

First I started out with two (heaping!) spoons of coconut oil, which I’ll guess is closer to 1 heaping tablespoon–it’s harder to gauge, because coconut oil, when it’s solid, can be really hard and a bit difficult to chip out a measured amount. Then I added around 1/2 tsp of green stevia leaf powder (I added a little more than what’s in the photo here). Then I put the bowl over a pot of water on medium heat, double-boiler method, and melted the coconut oil, mixing them together.

Then I added the kratom, one teaspoon at a time, and a few drops of mint oil, mixing it all together.

I had to keep mixing it, so that the kratom would stay suspended, but it was really easy to pour into cups. I made sure to under fill the cups, so that they would be easier to top off, since melted chocolate could potentially melt the coconut oil, unlike the peanut butter. Set the filled cups into the fridge to chill. This will take a little while (I think 15-30 min). If you’re in a hurry, you can stick them in the freezer instead.

They really change appearance once they’ve hardened and the coconut oil has solidified. the kratom and the stevia both contribute to the nice, green color which goes along with mint.

These are easy to top off, too. You can just pour the chocolate on top and spread it around quickly before the coconut oil melts, and stick them back in the fridge.

After trying one of each, I think I like the mint the best! And it’s the easier one to make 😉 I did not take a picture of the finished one with a bite out of it, however, as I’d already loaded up the pictures from the camera. Maybe next time…Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Making chocolates with kratom

Leave a Reply

